photo-6The sciatica nerve is the longest nerve in our body. Sciatica refers to the pain we feel along this nerve that runs from our lower back, through our glutes and down the back of each leg sending nerve endings down to the lower limbs. This long nerve controls many of the muscles and sensations in our legs. Sciatica pain isn’t a disorder but rather a symptom of a larger problem, usually a bulging or herniated vertebral disk.

I have feelings of numbness, burning and pins and needles from my lower back all the way down to the tips of my toes. I also experience swift jolts and feelings of electric shocks with little or no warning. These muscle aces and feelings of muscle weakness lead to excruciating pain. The muscular issue and swelling lead to pinching or pressure being placed on my sciatic nerve.

Persistent, untreated sciatica caused my permanent nerve damage. I did not seek medical treatment. I ignored the signs and symptoms. I will live with permanent nerve damage for the rest of my life.

I have no one to blame but myself.

